Bob

I mean one particular Bob: Spongebob Square Pants. I used to watch the show some years ago with my son and found it clever. However, I was a bit perplexed by the Spongebob renaissance I witnessed in Cairo last month. There was almost nowhere you could look without some Spongebob image on a tshirt or a towel or even Sponebob himself making an appearance, walking down the street. I’d love to know why he’s suddenly so popular since I haven’t seen the same sort of iconography in Beirut, for example. Most Egyptians I asked didn’t know why.

Leave a Reply

