Winter in Beirut

I love seeing cities in different seasons. I’ve now been in Beirut in Summer, Fall, and Winter. All week it has been raining, even hailing at times, and it’s just beautiful. You can see the moody clouds moving into land off of the Sea and it’s just beautiful. The periwinkle color of the clouds, with the sun shining through at various moments, and making an exquisite backdrop against the buildings, trees, and mountains. The city seems quieter than usual, perhaps because it’s Eid, and perhaps because of the weather. But I just love walking the streets, listening to the echo of the call to prayer, and watching the rain fall.

It’s been a mellow week in between meetings. A friend and I saw an amazing film called Bosta, which uses a dabka dance troupe to tell various stories and confront various issues in Lebanon through the characters and also the art form of dabka. The film is sort of a cross between camp and Bollywood. Imagine a Bollywood version of Priscilla Queen of the Desert, but with political discussions and traditional art forms woven in. We also went out with some of her friends, and ran into Fadi, at a club called the Basement, where we heard a Lebanese singer, Nadine Khouri. She plays guitar and sings, but she has a backup of a bass and drum (including tabla) players. Her voice reminded me of Ani DiFranco’s a bit, and it made me smile to hear some people in the audience asking her to sing a DiFranco song during the encore. Instead, she added a cover of Nina Simone and Prince to her encore. Her sultry voice in this really beautiful basement club was the perfect style of music for this moody weather.

Salam–

3 thoughts on “Winter in Beirut

  1. I hope you didn’t take offense at anything in my last comment. In retrospect it seems a bit preachy, something I like to avoid, even when I strongly disagree with someone. What I should have said is that there is more than one side to Sharon & you seemed to only be showing one, rather than delivering what must have seemed a general condemnation of your style of writing.

    Apologetically,
    The Dark Provost

  2. Actually, I am not offended per se by your comments “Dark Provost.” I just don’t usually find the types of comments you write are open to serious engagement. But much of the time I do engage with them, but I tend to reply to comments in bulk, not necessarily individually. Certainly there are many sides to Sharon, and if I am only showing one side it is because it is a side that is silenced in the U.S. media and an important one that needs to be given voice. Indeed, my Blog is often a response to the dominant perspective in the U.S. media. I don’t feel that it is necessary to give voice to every side of the political spectrum in the genre of blog writing. It’s not a news website. These are my personal observations and opinions and if people would like to hear other perspectives they are more than welcome to read the New York Times or search around in the blogosphere.

    Salam–

Leave a Reply

